What is a monitoring environment?

The following procedures apply to Dynatrace Managed installations only, not Dynatrace SaaS.

Your Dynatrace monitoring environment is where all your Dynatrace performance analysis takes place. Dynatrace OneAgent sends all captured monitoring data to your monitoring environment for analysis. A monitoring environment is analogous to an analysis server that provides all Dynatrace application-performance analysis functionality, including all dashboards, charts, reports and other tools.

It's common to set up multiple monitoring environments so that related entities can be grouped for discrete analysis. For example, you might set up one monitoring environment to monitor and analyze the performance of your production clusters. You might set up a second environment that's dedicated to the performance of your developers' machines and a third environment for your staging servers. How you segment your monitoring environments is entirely up to you.

Dynatrace Server is your Dynatrace cloud infrastructure that's hosted within your data center.

Create an environment

  1. Select Environments from the navigation menu.
  2. Click the + Add another environment button.
  3. In the Environment name text box, type in a name for your environment.
  4. You can optionally disable web checks by setting the Enable web checks switch to the off position.
  5. Click Save.

Configure an environment

After creating an environment and clicking Save, you are directed to the environment’s configuration page. You can however access an environment's configuration page at any time, by selecting Environments from the navigation menu and clicking the environment you want to configure.

On the configuration page, you can set the total as well as the monthly and annual quotas for your environment.

The total environment quotas include

  • Host units - Number of hosts to be monitored.
  • Infrastructure agents - Number of instances of Dynatrace OneAgent to be installed.
  • Transaction storage - Volume of disk space to be be reserved for transactions (for example, service calls, call stacks, and SQL statements).
  • Transaction storage retention - Amount of time the specified disk space for transaction is to be retained.
  • Log analytics storage - Volume of disk space to be reserved for log analytics.
  • Log analytics storage retention - Amount of time the specified disk space for log analytics is to be retained.

The monthly/annual quotas include

  • User sessions - Number of user sessions to be be monitored per month/year.
  • Web checks - Number of web checks to be be performed per month/year.
  • Log analytics ingress - Volume of Log analytics traffic per month/year.

Once any of these limits is consumed, the respective monitoring will no longer be available.

You can also assign environment permissions to the defined user groups.

Rename an environment

  1. Select Environments from the navigation menu.
  2. Select the environment you want to rename.
  3. Click the small pencil icon next to the environment's name.
  4. Type in the new name and click the tick mark button.

Disable/delete an environment

  1. Select Environments from the navigation menu.
  2. Select the environment you want to disable/delete.
  3. Click the Browse (...) button in the upper right corner.
  4. Select Disable environment or Permanently delete environment.

Access an environment

  1. Select Environments from the navigation menu.
  2. Select the environment you want to access.
  3. Click the Go to environment button in the upper right corner.

Alternatively, you can access an environment this way:

  1. Open the User menu by clicking the User icon in the upper-right corner.
  2. Open the Cluster Management drop list.
  3. Select the environment you want to access.

The monitoring data related to each environment are displayed on your home dashboard.

To access your Dynatrace Server administration page at any time

  1. From dashboard view, open the User menu by clicking the User icon in the upper-right corner.
  2. Click the environment’s name to open the drop list.
  3. Select Cluster Management.

Switch between environments

While on the dashboard view of a specific environment

  1. Open the User menu by clicking the User icon in the upper-right corner.
  2. Click the environment’s name to open the drop list.
  3. Select another environment you want to access.