This topic applies to Dynatrace Managed installations only.
From the Cluster nodes page you can remove a node from a Dynatrace Managed cluster:
- Log in as an administrator. Use your Dynatrace Managed URL or a cluster node that you want to keep (you can’t remove a node while you’re logged into the node).
- Click Disable to stop monitoring data processing on the node. Enter your Dynatrace Managed password to confirm you want to disable the node. If you want to temporarily exclude the node from a cluster, stop here and enable the node later. Dynatrace Server software will keep running on the machine but it won’t process monitoring data. To remove the node and continue using Dynatrace:
- Click Remove to completely remove the node and change the cluster configuration.
Enter your Dynatrace Managed password to confirm that you want to remove the node.
In effect the node will no longer be part of the cluster. Dynatrace Managed will be stopped and completely removed from your machine.
Removing a “dead” node
When a cluster node stops operating due to a hardware failure or other condition, you can’t remove the node via the Cluster nodes page. Though the node machine may not be available, it’s still registered and displayed as a member of the cluster. Dead nodes are represented with inactive tiles (see example below).
To manually remove a node from a cluster:
Log in to the machine that hosts a healthy cluster node.
As root, locate the ID of the broken node:
cassandra-nodetool.sh lists all nodes registered within a cluster and shows their IDs. Dead nodes are marked as
DN in the first column:
Note the Host ID value of the broken cluster node (you’ll need it in the next step).
cassandra-nodetool.sh to remove the node:
Host ID> is the value displayed by the status command).
For example, to remove one of the hosts shown in the previous example execute:
(optional) You can install a new node on another machine. For details see How do I add a new cluster node?
Note : Dynatrace Server shows dead and removed nodes for 7 days. Even after a dead node is no longer displayed on the Clusters page it’s still registered as a cluster node. You need to remove the node manually.